Egg donor or Adoption? This article really discusses the two top options for couples who have the desire to become parents and are unable to concieve a child themselves. Both sides of this arguement have good points and it is one of those decisions I feel that cannot be decided unless you are actually put into that situation. No matter which one a couple chooses, they will still have to deal with the enevitable comment, "technically you're not my mother".
As much as I do believe that adoption is a great choice for many couples and there are so many great children out there who just need a family to accept and love them...I think I'd have to side with using an Egg donation. Although it is very very expensive, I know I would be devistated to not be able to have children of my own that I know came from me, and I would pay any expense to allow my future wife to be able to have a chance at actually being pregnant and giving birth to a child. I'm sure many would argue that it's a ridiculous amount of money to be spending on something that isn't even 100% chance of working, but if this is what my future wife wanted...I'd do all I could to give it to her.
When it comes to picking the donor, I believe that too many people look for too many special attributes. Like hair color, height, education...Next thing they'll want to choose is the shoe size their kid will grow up to have. I think looking at past medical history is the only thing that should really matter, becuase once you have a child it should be loved no matter what hair color, if any hair at all, just as much. The real meaing of "Family" isn't decided by your genes...its by the love people have for you and people need to remember that.
Sunday, January 25, 2009
Tuesday, January 20, 2009
Response "why i love facebook"
While reading, “Facebook: Why I Love It…” I quickly started to think back and remember when I was first introduced to this new online sensation that was connecting people with friends…and also complete strangers. I do agree that it is a great tool to have to try to find and communicate with people which is much easier than email, but I think facebook with many has gone too far. I know people and used to be a victim of facebook who would waste hours sitting in front of a screen looking at pictures, reading wall-to-wall convo’s…”facebook stalking” as some might say. Trying to think of something clever to say in my “about me” or post someone just to get a response back. Maybe I’m just not as cool as I thought I was but I think too many people are caught up in this fake cyber friendship when they should be out actually talking to people using words. The whole “status” thing was mention in the article and I think it’s just stupid. I know people who will text into their facebook pages from their phone just to let the world know that they are finally out of class, or they got an A on their test. Not to be harsh but honestly, who cares?
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)